First blog post

  1. Do you feel school is preparing you adequately for your future. Why or why not?

I do not feel like school is adequately preparing me for my future because I cannot see when I am going to need any of the information that I am learning now, after I am done school. Even for post secondary school there are many people that will get a degree in one thing but end up in a job that has nothing to do with the degree that they spent four plus years getting. Even though I do not feel like schools are adequately preparing me for my future, I do not think there is much that can be done about that because the things that we are not learning you cannot really teach you need to experience. For instance, going away for university can be challenging but you cannot learn how to live by yourself until you are living by yourself.

2.How do you personally use technology to learn?

Sometimes I us technology to learn. For example, if I am at home and I am doing my homework and I do not know how to do something, I will look up a video on how to do that one thing. Most of the time I do not use the technology for learning but more for assistance in whatever I am doing, like if I need to write something for school I will use my computer to type it up and I will use an online thesaurus.

3. Do classes that use more technology appeal to you? Is it easier for you to learn the content?

I like having a balance of classes that use more technology and classes that are more sit in rows and listen to the teacher. Classes that use more technology are a nice change from the normal structure of lets say a math class. I do think that if the technology is used in the right way then it can make a course much easier to learn. For example, last year in my physics class we used a strobe light and a camera that was on a special setting so that it took the picture really slowly. Then kids dropped a ball from there hands and because of the strobe light you could see the ball at many different points as it was falling. So in that case we were learning about the force of gravity and it made it easier for me to learn because instead of just doing the math on the board we got to see exactly what we were learning which made it easier for me to understand.

4. Does it matter to you if a teacher uses technology in class? Why or why not?

I would not say that it matters to much to me if a a teacher used technology in there class because as long as they keep the class engaging and interesting and they explain the lesson well, then if does not matter to me if they use technology. Sometimes it is nice to change things up a bit from the normal structure of class and do something new, but I understand that in classes like math it is hard to incorporate technology into the curriculum so I do not mind if a teacher does not us technology.

5. What technology would you like to see teachers use that is not currently being used?  Why did you choose that technology?

I think that a 3-D printer would be a valuable tool to have in class because with the 3-D printer teachers would be able to print out an example of something that students are not able to see otherwise. For instance if your biology teacher printed a heart you would be able to see where the valves are which could very helpful for some students.

Leave a Reply

